Saturday, August 2, 2008

Oscar Season Nominated For The T. Jefferson Parker Mystery Award

Update: Joseph Wambaugh won this year's T. Jefferson Parker award for Southern California Mystery but you know IT WAS AN HONOR TO JUST TO BE NOMINATED. NOT KIDDING!
The Southern California Independent Booksellers announced their nominations today for the annual SoCal Book Awards 2008 and the very presitigous T. Jefferson Parker Mystery nominations go to some great books currently in the stores--including Oscar Season: A Novel. Reached by phone this morning Mary McNamara author of Oscar Season, who was not aware of the nomination, responded, "Wow."

Sphere: Related Content

Friday, August 1, 2008

"...a certain queasy archetype..."

Some people know Mary McNamara's work from her novel Oscar Season but Mary is also the television critic for The Los Angeles Times. Her ability to get to the heart of television shows and what they tell us about celebrity, media and pop culture in general, sets her apart as as a reporter and a writer--and one of the things that makes Oscar Season more than just a Hollywood novel.

Click to read her most recent story here. Sphere: Related Content

Oscar Season Now In Trade Paperback $14.00

The classic mystery novel and today’s paparazzi coincide in this engaging, insider’s look at Hollywood in the weeks leading up to the Academy Awards.

She is one of the very few reporters allowed to witness pre-telecast rehearsals and for years has covered Oscar night from the celebrity side of the red carpet and backstage during the show.

A recent recipient of an L.A. Press Club and American Association of Features Editors Awards for her industry coverage, she has interviewed innumerable stars and directors, and used her experience to craft this deliciously entertaining whodunit.

Wide audience: This novel will fascinate the many readers captivated by Hollywood and the celebrity lifestyle, while also appealing to mystery devotees and fans of smart, entertaining women’s fiction. It’s equal parts Jackie Collins, Michael Tolkin, and Sue Grafton.